Rock Valley College

RVC to Host Annual Science Olympiad

Posted: Monday, February 27, 2017

Media Contact: RVC Public Relations, 815-921-4510

Event Date: Saturday, March 18, 2017

For the past 32 years, the Science Olympiad has led a revolution in science education. What began as a grassroots assembly of science teachers is now one of the premier science competitions in the nation, providing rigorous, standards-based challenges to 7,400 teams in 50 states. Science Olympiad's ever-changing line-up of events in all STEM disciplines exposes students to practicing scientists and career choices, and energizes classroom teachers with a dynamic content experience.
Rock Valley College will host a Science Olympiad Regional Competition for over 500 middle and high school students on Saturday, March 18, 2017.  The event will take place from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. on the RVC main campus (3301 N. Mulford Rd.) with an awards ceremony at 4:00 p.m.  Students will be competing in events such as; Experimental Design, Robot Arm, Forensics, Hovercraft, Food Science and many more.
The top students in each event will receive medals, while the top high school teams and top middle school teams will advance to the state tournament at the University of Illinois in Champaign/Urbana on Saturday, April 29, 2017.  Then the top two teams from Illinois will advance to the national competition held on May 19th at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio.
The following schools (Rockford and Elgin regions) are scheduled to compete in this year's Science Olympiad:
Middle Schools:  Durand Junior High School, Eisenhower Middle School, Harlem Middle School, Rockford Christian Middle School, Rockford Lutheran Middle School, Roscoe Middle School, Larsen M.S, Kenyon Woods M.S., Eastview M.S. Canton M.S., Abbott M.S., Tefft M.S.  Ellis M.S., and Kimball M.S., .
High Schools:  Auburn High School, Belvidere High School, Belvidere North High School, Boylan Catholic High School, Durand High School, Guilford High School, Harlem High School, , Rockford Christian High School, Rockford Iqra High School, Streamwood High School, Elgin High School, Bartlett High School and South Elgin High School.
For more information, please contact Elizabeth Russo, RVC Professor of Life Science, at or (815) 921-3477.