Rock Valley College

RVC Wins NFCA’s 2014 NJCAA Division III National Coaching Staff of the Year Award

Posted: Thursday, June 26, 2014

Media Contact: Dave Costello, 815-921-4516

The National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) has announced that the Rock Valley College Softball coaching staff has been selected NFCA NJCAA Division III National Coaching Staff of the Year.

Head coach Darin Monroe and first-year assistant coaches Katie Dixon, Chad Kulpa, and Alyssa Novak led the Golden Eagles to a school record 42-9 record this past season and the college's first ever national championship in softball in just the program's third NJCAA tournament appearance. In three years under Monroe, RVC has appeared in two NJCAA tournaments and has compiled a stellar 104-39 mark.

Monroe picked up his 100th career win in the Golden Eagles' 8-7 victory over College of DuPage in the Region IV championship game and then defeated defending national champion Herkimer for the second time in three days as part of a 4-0 run at the NJCAA national tournament in Rochester, Minn., that also included beating No. 1 seed Brookdale in the semifinals.

Sophomore NFCA All-America pitcher Amanda Blankenship went 3-0 at the national tournament with a 0.30 earned-run average to collect both Most Valuable Player and Pitcher of the Tournament honors. For the season, she compiled a 21-5 record with an 1.97 ERA, 20 complete games and 241 strikeouts in 181 innings, for an average of 9.32 strikeouts per game.

Fellow sophomore Danielle Walker, the team's shortstop, and three freshmen — first baseman Kaytee Keefe, outfielder Katie Meyer and at-large selection Haley Love — also garnered NFCA All-America recognition to give Rock Valley a division-best five honorees.

Walker batted .503 with 24 doubles, two triples, 10 home runs, 11 stolen bases and 82 runs batted in over 51 games, while Keefe hit .462 with 16 doubles, two homers and 48 RBI. Meyer posted a .434 average with 13 doubles, two triples, seven steals and 49 RBI, and third baseman Love hit .459 with nine doubles, six triples, eight steals and 30 RBI.

NFCA member coaches select the National Coaching Staff of the Year honorees annually in their respective college, high school, or travel ball division via an online balloting process.

Clockwise from top left: Darin Monroe, Alyssa Novak, Katie Dixon, Chad Kulpa