Rock Valley College

RVC’s Doty to Coach in National All-Star Game in Las Vegas

Posted: Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Media Contact: Dave Costello, 815-921-4516

Rock Valley College Head Men's Basketball Coach Craig Doty has been selected to coach in the NJCAA Men's Basketball Coaches Association All-American All-star Game on Saturday, May 10, in Las Vegas.

Doty, who won the NJCAA Division III Coach of the Year after leading the Golden Eagles to their first national championship in the 48 year history of the program, will coach the NJCAA DII/DIII all-star squad as they take on the NJCAA DI all-stars. Doty also garnered Coach of the Year honors from Region IV, District 2, and the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association, and won the Gary S. Cole Coach of the NJCAA Tournament. RVC won a school record 30 games in his second year leading the program. 

"I am excited to represent Rock Valley College, Region IV, and the N4C Conference in Las Vegas this weekend," Doty said. "This is a tremendous honor and a great opportunity."

The game will be played at the Orleans Arena. Tip-off is set for Saturday at 4:30 p.m.  The rosters are composed of NJCAA sophomores, which will allow RVC freshmen Jared Mayes (NJCAA Division III Player of the Year) and LT Davis (NJCAA Tournament MVP), to be eligible for the event next year.

NJCAA Division I all-stars

Javonte Douglas (Central Florida CC), 6-7; Johnny Zuppardo (Jones County CC), 6-9; Kadeem Allen (Hutchinson CC), 6-3; Kevin Punter (State Fair CC), 6-4; Lester Medford (Indian Hills CC), 5-11; Harold McBride Jr. (Lake Land College), 6-0; Alvin Braddock (Kankakee CC), 6-6; Willie Wiley (Vincennes University), 6-7; Jeff Newberry (New Mexico JC), 6-2; Jordan Stevens (Southeastern CC), 6-1; Ivan Uceda (Harcum College), 6-10; Wayne Langston (McLennan CC), 6-7.

Coach – Todd Franklin (Vincennes University).

NJCAA Division II/III all-stars

Malik Albert (Mott CC), 6-2; Winston Grays (Cincinnati State Tech), 6-2; Benquan Petty (Cedar Valley College), 5-9; Keron Briggs (Sullivan County CC), 5-11; David Humphries (NIACC), 6-4; Deondre Parks (Iowa Lakes), 6-2; Andrew Maxie (Eastfield College), 6-5; Antonio Levy (South Suburban College), 6-1; Brandon Nazione (DMACC), 6-7; Thomas Wilson (Caldwell CC &Tech), 6-3; TJ Tisdell Jr. (John Wood CC), 6-7; Jon Feiler (Herkimer College), 6-8.

Coaches – Craig Doty (Rock Valley CC); Matt Gordon (Phoenix College) 

Craig Doty