Rock Valley College
Rockford, Illinois

RVC student named Coca-Cola Gold Scholar

Posted: Monday, March 17, 2014

Media Contact: Dave Costello, 815-921-4516

Angelica CagleRock Valley College student Angelica Cagle has been named a Gold Scholar on Coca-Cola's 2014 Community College Academic Team. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars, and providing nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually.

This program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and is administered by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.  Cagle's selection was based on the score she earned in the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition, which included more than 1,700 participants.

As a Gold Scholar, Cagle will be presented with a gold medallion and a monetary award of $1,500. Phi Theta Kappa will recognize the 2014 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Scholars at this year's Annual Convention on April 25 in Orlando, Florida. She will also be honored at the All-Illinois Banquet in Springfield on April 1 where she will receive her gold medallion.

Cagle is from Rockford, Illinois and is a U.S. Navy veteran. After RVC she plans to transfer to the University of Texas of the Permian Basin in Odessa, Texas, to pursue a degree in Nuclear Engineering. She serves as the Vice-President of Leadership of the Omicron Eta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

Community college presidents or their designated nominators may submit two nominations per campus for this award. An independent panel of judges considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.

Cagle joins a list of other RVC students who have earned similar honors in recent years, including Janet Saldana (2012 Coca-Cola Silver Scholar), Stacey Slintak (2011 Coca-Cola New Century Scholar), and Dylan DeRoberts (2010 Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar).

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, MS, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.