Rockford, Illinois

Business Classifications

Small Business Size Standards
Are you a small business or a large business? The definitions vary by industry. A summary of size standards is highlighted on the US Small Business Administration (SBA) website. SBA has also established a Table of Small Business Size Standards for easy reference.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) coding system identifies what type of activity (e.g. agriculture, construction, manufacturing, etc.) your business performs, as well as the type of product or service you offer.  Government buyers will access CCR to query those vendors with appropriate NAICS codes to meet their procurement needs. To determine your NAICS code, visit the US Census Bureau.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a series of number codes that attempts to classify all business establishments by the types of products or services they make available. It is a government system for classifying industries by a four-digit code. It is being replaced by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS code); however certain government agencies still use the SIC codes. To determine your SIC code, visit the US Department of Labor.

Federal Supply Classification (FSC) and Product Supply Code (PSC)
The federal government uses these codes to describe the products and services it buys. PSC is used to identify services, and FSC is used to identify products.Your FSC/PSC code is necessary for CCR registration. To determine your FSC/PSC codes, visit this directory at Outreach Systems.