CLEP (College-Level Examination Program)

Shorten Your Path to a College Degree with CLEP


The College-Level Examination Program (CLEP) is a national program of credit by examination that gives you the opportunity to receive college credit for what you already know. Whether you are just entering college and hoping to accelerate your studies, a part-time student concerned with the fastest route to a degree or a working adult thinking about beginning or resuming college, CLEP can help you:

  • Earn credit for what you already know
  • Place out of a graduation requirement or an introductory course
  • Save tuition dollars
  • Shorten the time it takes to earn a degree


CLEP examinations are computer-based, approximately 90 minutes in length and score reports are available immediately after testing. More than five million people have used CLEP and 2,900 colleges and universities in the United States will recognize credit earned through CLEP.
 

Military Personnel and Veterans


To assist military personnel in meeting their educational goals, the Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education Support (DANTE'S) funds CLEP exams for eligible military service members and eligible civilian employees. To learn more visit: www.collegeboard.com/clep


More about CLEP
 

  • Instructor CLEP Testimonial

Registration Process and Scheduling Form

 

CLEP Registration Procedure
 

1) Appointments are required.  Select date from below.  Call the Testing Center at (815) 921-2385 or stop by Testing Center in person to reserve a seat.

2) A $15 test proctor fee will be due day of the exam (cash or check made payable to RVC)
 

3) Register for exam at https://clepportal.collegeboard.org/myaccount

  • Click create an account
  • Browse & select your exam; add to cart
  • Pay $80 exam fee by credit or debit card
  • Print off registration ticket; bring ticket with you on exam day to RVC
  • Registration ticket is valid for six months
     

Prepare for Exam
 

  • CLEP Study Guides for some of the most popular exams are available for check out in the Testing Center for a three week period with a $20 refundable deposit (cash only).
  • CLEP Study Guides are also available for purchase at most major bookstores including Amazon.  You can also download a study guide for each individual exam for $10 each.
  • CLEP At-A-Glance Sheets are available for each exam. Each provide a Description of the Exam, outline the Knowledge and Skills required, and include Some Sample Test Questions and Study Resources.
 

Exam Day
 

  • Arrive 10 minutes prior to exam time
  • Bring a valid government issued photo ID (driver's license, state ID, passport)
  • Bring registration ticket
  • Bring $15 cash/check proctor fee
     

Test Dates


Fall 2016
Friday, August 26 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, August 31 at 1:30 p.m.   
Thursday, September 8 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, September 14 at 1:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 22 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, September 28 at 1:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 13 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, October 19 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, October 26 at 1:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 27 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, November 2 at 1:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 10 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, November 16 at 1:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 17 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, November 30 at 1:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 1 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 7 at 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 21 at 1:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 22 at 1:30 p.m.