Rock Valley College

WorkKeys Assessments

The ACT National Career Readiness Certificate (ACT NCRC) is an assessment-based credential powered by ACT WorkKeys®. Issued at four levels, the ACT NCRC measures and certifies the essential work skills needed for success in jobs across industries and occupations.


Based on ACT WorkKeys foundational skills assessments

The ACT NCRC is based on ACT WorkKeys research-based work skills assessments. To earn an ACT NCRC, you must successfully complete three ACT WorkKeys assessments: Applied Mathematics, Locating Information, and Reading for Information. These assessments measure a range of essential work skills, including the ability to:

  • Perform basic mathematic operations relevant to the workplace
  • Read and understand documents commonly found in the workplace
  • Find information presented in common workplace graphics
  • Set up and solve complex work-related math problems
  • Determine the relevance of written information to work-related tasks
  • Apply information derived from graphics to work-related problems


Four levels of proficiency

The ACT NCRC is awarded at four levels, based on the scores achieved on the component assessments:

  • Platinum: Scores of Level 6 or higher on all three exams
  • Gold: Scores of Level 5 or higher on all three exams
  • Silver: Scores of Level 4 or higher on all three exams
  • Bronze: Scores of Level 3 or higher on all three exams

Learn more about WorkKeys assessments