Illinois Community College District #511 Rock Valley College 3301 North Mulford Road Rockford, IL 61114

Educational Resource Center (ERC), Performing Arts Room (PAR), Room 0214

<u>Board of Trustees Special Meeting – Decennial Committee</u> February 27, 2024, 5:15 p.m.

MINUTES

Call to Order

The Special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 511, Winnebago, Boone, DeKalb, McHenry, Ogle, and Stephenson Counties, Illinois, convened in Room 0214, known as the Performing Arts Center in the Educational Resource Center, on Tuesday, February 27, 2024. On behalf of Rock Valley College President Dr. Howard Spearman, co-chair of the Decennial Committee, who was unable to attend, Board Chair Gloria Cardenas Cudia called the meeting to order at 5:15 p.m.

Roll Call

The following members of the committee were present:

Ms. Gloria Cardenas Cudia	Mr. Bob Trojan
Mr. Paul Gorski	Mr. John Nelson
Mr. Richard Kennedy	Ms. Kristen Simpson
Ms. Crystal Soltow	Ms. Heather Snider
Ms. Jessica Jones	Ms. Ellen Olson
Student Trustee Juan Nogueda	Ms. Ann Kerwitz

The following members of the committee were absent: Dr. Howard Spearman, Mr. Adrian Vasquez.

Also in attendance: Mr. Rick Jenks, Vice President Operations/Chief Operations Officer; Dr. Amanda Smith, Vice President Academic Affairs/Chief Academic Officer; Mr. Jim Handley, Vice President Human Resources; Mr. Keith Barnes, Vice President Equity and Inclusion; Dr. Patrick Peyer, Vice President Student Affairs; Dr. Hansen Stewart, Vice President of Career and Technical Education and Workforce Development; Ms. Betsy Saucedo, Assistant to the President; Ms. Tracy Luethje, Executive Assistant; Attorney Matthew Gardner, Robbins Schwartz.

Board Member Attendance by Means Other Than Physical Presence

No one asked to join the meeting via teleconference, as all participating committee members were able to attend the meeting in person.

Communications and Petitions (Public Comment)

No public comments were received.

Approval of Minutes

A motion was made by Trustee Soltow, seconded by Trustee Simpson, to approve the minutes of the December 19, 2023 meeting. There was no discussion. The motion was approved by majority roll call vote. Committee members Cudia, Jones, Kennedy, Kerwitz, Nogueda, Olson, Simpson, Snider, Soltow, and Trojan voted yes. Members Gorski and Nelson voted no.

Presentation, Review and Approval of Final Report

Ms. Heather Snider, vice president of institutional effectiveness and communications, thanked the community members Ms. Jessica Jones and Mr. Adrian Vasquez for serving on the Committee. She then presented a brief summary of the Decennial Committee's Final Report including a review of the process and the three topics studied by the Committee.

Outcomes of the survey of residents (24 responses) indicate that 96 percent of respondents somewhat agreed or strongly agreed that discussion at the Decennial Committee meetings suggest that Rock Valley College operates in an efficient manner. The survey responses also indicate that 100 percent somewhat agreed or strongly agreed that Rock Valley College has sufficient accountability measures to govern the institution. The Decennial Committee is not recommending any additional accountability or efficiency to the county boards in its district. However, several internal recommendations are included in the Final Report.

Trustee Gorski thanked staff for their work preparing and presenting the information to the Committee. He added that he does not understand the legislation, as the College is not accountable to the county boards in its district. Therefore, because he is against the legislation, he will vote against approval of the Final Report.

Recommendation to Board of Trustees to Approve Final Report

A motion was made by Heather Snider, seconded by Trustee Trojan, to approve the Final Report of the Decennial Committee and present it to the Rock Valley College Board of Trustees for acknowledgement.

There was no discussion. The motion was approved by majority roll call vote. Committee members Cudia, Jones, Kennedy, Kerwitz, Nogueda, Olson, Simpson, Snider, Soltow, and Trojan voted yes. Members Gorski and Nelson voted no.

Recommendation to Submit Report to County Boards in RVC District No. 511

Ms. Cardenas Cudia indicated that the Final Report will be sent to the six county boards in the Rock Valley College District No. 511 in April 2024.

Dissolution of Decennial Committee

Ms. Cardenas Cudia explained that this will be the last meeting of the RVC Decennial Committee, as the legislation indicates that the Committee will automatically be dissolved when the Final Report is sent to the six county boards in the Rock Valley College District No. 511. She also thanked Ms. Jessica Jones and Mr. Adrian Vasquez for their willingness to serve on the Committee.

Date of Next Committee of the Whole Meeting: March 12, 2024, 5:15 p.m. The meeting will be held in Room 0214, Performing Arts Room (PAR), Educational Resource Center (ERC) on the main campus.

Date of Next Regular Board of Trustees Meeting: March 26, 2024, 5:15 p.m. The meeting will be held in Room 0214, Performing Arts Room (PAR), Educational Resource Center (ERC) on the main campus.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Decennial Committee, at 5:25 p.m., a motion to adjourn was made by Trustee Trojan, seconded by Trustee Soltow. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

Submitted by Ann L. Kerwitz

Ann L. Kerwitz

Decennial Committee Secretary

Deorio Cardenes Cudia

Gloria Cardenas Cudia

On behalf of Decennial Committee Co-Chair

Dr. Howard J. Spearman

NOTE: Since February 27, 2024 was the last meeting of the Decennial Committee, minutes of that meeting were emailed to members of the Decennial Committee for review and approval. Members were asked to email confirmation of their vote to approve or not approve the February 27, 2024 meeting minutes to Ann Kerwitz, Decennial Committee Secretary.

Minutes Approved electronically via Adobe Sign between 3/20/24 and 3/26/24.

Aye: Trojan, Jones, Vasquez, Cudia, Kennedy, Soltow, Simpson, Olson, Snider, Kerwitz, Spearman, Nogueda.

Nay/No Response: Gorski, Nelson