Rock Valley College
Rockford, Illinois

Academic Calendar


SPRING SEMESTER 2014                                                 
 
January 2 (Thursday)  Offices Open 
January 10 (Friday)  Faculty/Staff Development Day/College Open 
January 11 (Saturday)*  Weekend Classes Begin 
January 13 (Monday)*  Weekday Classes Begin 
January 20 (Monday)
No Classes/College Closed
March 9 - 16 (Sunday-Sunday)
Spring Recess - No Weekday/Weekend Classes
March 17 / 22 (Monday / Saturday)
Weekday / Weekend Classes Resume
April 17 (Thursday)
Faculty Development Day/No Classes
April 18, 19, 20 (Friday, Saturday, Sunday)
No Classes/College Closed
May 3 (Saturday)
End of Weekend Classes
May 9 (Friday)
End of Weekday Classes
May 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 (Sat, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri)
Final Exams for Weekend & Weekday Classes
May 16 (Friday at 6 pm)
Commencement
May 19 (Monday)
Grades due before 12 noon

*Most 16-week classes begin this week.  Check class schedule for specific dates. Deadlines vary for courses less than 16-weeks in length.  Contact Records and Registration for specific dates.  


Summer 2014 (Summer I)
 
May 19 (Monday)
Classes Begin
May 26 (Monday)
College Closed
June 5 (Thursday)
Final Exams
June 9 (Monday)
Grades due before 12 noon

 

Summer 2014 (Summer II)
 
June 9 (Monday)*
Classes begin for first 4-week and 8-week of Session II
July 2 (Wednesday)
Final exam day for first 4-week classes of Session II
July 2 (Wednesday)
No classes for 8-week classes/College Open
July 3 (Thursday)
No classes/College Open
July 4 (Friday)
No classes/College Closed
July 29 (Tuesday)
End of Classes
July 30, 31 (Wednesday, Thursday)
Final Exams for Session II
August 4 (Monday)
Grades due before 12 noon

 

Summer 2014 (Summer III)
 
July 7 (Monday)*
Classes begin for second 4-week Session III
July 29 (Tuesday)
End of Classes
July 30, 31 (Wednesday, Thursday)
Final Exams for Session III
August 4 (Monday)
Grades due before 12 noon

 

Fall 2014
 
August 16 (Saturday)*
Weekend Classes Begin
August 18 (Monday)*
Weekday Classes Begin
August 30, 31, September 1 (Saturday, Sunday, Monday)
No Weekend Classes/College Closed
September 2 (Tuesday)
Faculty/Staff Development Day/No Classes
November 26 (Wednesday)
Fall Recess/No Classes/College Open
November 27-30 (Thursday-Sunday)
No Classes/College Closed
December 5 (Friday)
End of Weekday Classes
December 6 (Saturday)
End of Weekend Classes
December 8-12 (Monday-Friday)
Final Exams for Weekday Classes
December 13 (Saturday)
Final Exams for Weekend Classes
December 15 (Monday)
Grades due before 12 noon
December 24, 2014-January 4, 2015
No Classes/College Closed

 

Spring 2015
 
January 5 (Monday)
Offices Open
January 9 (Friday)
Faculty Development Day/College Open
January 10 (Saturday)*
Weekend Classes Begin
January 12 (Monday)*
Weekday Classes Begin
January 19 (Monday)
No Classes/College Closed
March 8-15 (Sunday-Sunday)
Spring Recess- No Weekday or Weekend Classes
March 16/21 (Monday/Saturday)
Weekday/Weekend Classes Resume
April 2 (Thursday)
Faculty/Staff Development Day/No Classes
April 3-5 (Friday-Sunday)
No Classes/College Closed)
May 2 (Saturday)
End of Weekend Classes
May 8 (Friday)
End of Weekday Classes
May 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 (Sat, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri)
Final Exams for Weekend and Weekday Classes
May 15 (Friday at 6pm)
Commencement
May 18 (Monday)
Grades due before 12 noon

 

*Most 16-week classes begin this week.  Check class schedule for specific dates. Deadlines vary for courses less than 16-weeks in length.  Contact Records and Registration for specific dates.