Joint Agreement Program

What is a Joint Agreement?

Certain Associate in Applied Science degrees and certificate programs might not be available at Rock Valley College.   Because of this, the college has contractual agreements with other community colleges for specific programs at specific colleges.  Students take all specialized courses at the cooperative college and pay tuition and fees according to the in-district rate at that institution.  Related technical and general education courses required by the cooperative programs may be taken at Rock Valley College or the community college offering the program.  The cooperating college will issue all degrees or certificates for successful completion of the individual program.

Community colleges often have comparable programs.  Cooperative agreements are granted at the discretion of your community college and will not be granted for programs that are the same as those offered at the home institution.

Current Agreement Partners

Rock Valley College participates in the “Comprehensive Agreement Regarding the Expansion of Educational Resources” (C.A.R.E.E.R.). This cooperative agreement includes the following Illinois institutions:

  • Black Hawk College
  • Carl Sandburg College
  • College of Dupage
  • College of Lake County
  • Danville Community College
  • Elgin Community College
  • Harper College
  • Heartland Community College
  • Highland Community College
  • Illinois Central College
  • Illinois Eastern Community Colleges
  • Illinois Valley Community College
  • John A Logan College
  • John Wood Community College
  • Joliet Junior College
  • Kankakee Community College
  • Kaskaskia College
  • Kishwaukee Community College
  • Lake Land College
  • Lewis and Clark Community
  • Lincoln Land Community College
  • McHenry County College
  • Morton College
  • Oakton Community College
  • Parkland Community College
  • Prairie State College
  • Richland Community College
  • Sauk Valley Community College
  • Shawnee Community College
  • Spoon River College
  • South Suburban College
  • Southeastern Community College
  • Southwestern Illinois College
  • Waubonsee Community College

Rock Valley College also has an individual joint agreement with Blackhawk Technical College in Wisconsin which includes the following:

  • Agribusiness Specialist
  • Agribusiness Science & Technology
  • Culinary Arts
  • Diagnostic Medical Sonography & Vascular
  • Diesel/Heavy Equipment Technician
  • Electric Power Distribution
  • Electro-Mechanical Technology
  • Human Resource Management
  • HVAC/R
  • Laboratory Technician Assistant (2 seats for qualified students)
  • Physical Therapy Assistant (2 seats for qualified students)
  • Radiography (2 seats for qualified students)


  • Cooperative agreements and chargebacks are not applicable for enrollment in individual courses (A.A.S. degree and certificate programs only).
  • A.A.S. degree and certificate programs must be recognized by the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB) to be eligible.
  • Approval is given for one academic year.  Therefore, if you continue in your program of study you must renew your agreement prior to the start of the next academic year.
  • If you enroll in courses outside your program of study, you will be charged that school's out-of-district tuition rate.
  • For non-required courses, contact Rock Valley College for approval before registering for the class.
  • Courses under 100-level and/or repeated courses are not covered by cooperative agreements and chargebacks. Prerequisite courses may be covered on a case by case basis.
  • You must obtain approval if you change your program or course of study. If this procedure is not followed, you may have to pay that school's out-of-district tuition rates. 
  • You are only permitted to have one joint agreement. Requests for additional joint agreements when  a program has been attempted or completed will not be honored.